Technical Team

The technical team has primary responsibility for drafting the specification and developing documentation, templates, samples and tools.

Interacting with the Technical Team and SPDX

There are many ways in which you can participate on the technical team and/or help spread the adoption of the SPDX. They include helping with the specification, helping to maintain the web pages you see here, getting involved in the tools development (as a developer or tester), helping with documentation, being a beta tester for new versions of the specification and tools or even just hanging out and listening to what’s being said.

When communicating with others on the technical team or possibly others who are implementing SPDX here is some guidance. Our primary means of communication is through the technical team mailing list. This is followed by our weekly meetings. If you are a user of SPDX then you may wish to visit our IRC channel where we are trying to develop a community of users who are involved in implementing SPDX so they have an open forum in which to exchange thoughts and ideas.

Mailing List

The first thing you should do is join our mailing list. This is the primary form of communication that we use. There is really no formality to using the list so just speak up. If you are a new user giving a short introduction of whom you are and what your interests are is always a good idea. Heck you can even just say hello. To join the mailing list click here.

Gitter

SPDX uses Gitter for discussing SPDX coding projects and tools and tooling – primarily technical, but anyone interested in the project definitions or implementation is welcome to join.

Our gitter room:  https://gitter.im/spdx-org/Lobby

Bug Database and Outstanding Issues

Issues against the SPDX Tools, Specification, Website and so forth may be entered via our GitHub for the relevant project.

Where we Work

  • The work of the Technical team is done primarily through our GitHub Repos, Mailing List and Technical Team Meetings.
  • We do have a Wiki, but its primarily used now for meeting Minute and Google Summer of Code or other small projects. It contains a vast amount of historical data. You can access our wiki here: http://wiki.spdx.org/view/Technical_Team .
  • The Technical Team meets weekly and the Meeting information is below. Once a month there may also be joint meetings held with the Legal team and they are announced on the mailing lists.

Technical Team Chairs

Gary O’Neall, Technical Team Co-Lead

Kate Stewart, Technical Team Co-Lead

 

Meeting Information

This is an  Technical Team Meeting Invite 2020 ICAL Calendar invite. Zoom is currently used for all calls.

 

Meeting:  https://zoom.us/j/663426859
Meeting ID: 663 426 859

Tuesdays at 17:00 UTC (and best guess for local time – 10:00AM PDT, 11:00 MDT, 12:00PM CDT, 1:00PM EDT, 18:00 WAT, 19:00 CEST).

Australia +61 2 8015 2088
Canada +1 647 558 0588
Germany +49 30 3080 6188
Japan +81 3 4578 1488
US Toll-free 877 369 0926
Find your local number: https://zoom.us/u/ac9KKJWzJT